Glasgow’s Scottish Youth Parliament team walk away with the top accolade in this year’s awards ceremony.

Some of the winners pictured at the awards ceremony.
Some of the winners pictured at the awards ceremony.

A group of Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) from Glasgow have won a top award at this year’s SYP Awards 2017.

The Glasgow MSYPs, including representatives from the southside were recognised at the glitzy awards ceremony, held in Portobello Town Hall on Saturday, March 25, for their work in the development of Glasgow Youth Council (GYC) which led to an increase in membership in 2016 and better engagement between young people and Glasgow City Council.

The MSYPs, who represent constituencies across Glasgow, were brought up on stage on Saturday night and presented with the accolade which was sponsored by Young Scot.

The winning group of MSYPs includes:

Alana McKenna MSYP for Glasgow Anniesland

Aqeel Ahmed MSYP for Glasgow Pollok

Calum MacLeod MSYP for Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn

Danyaal Raja MSYP for Glasgow Southside

Fatma Mohamed MSYP for Glasgow Southside

Fiona Ross MSYP for Glasgow Kelvin

Keiran O’Neill MSYP for Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn

Martin Gallacher MSYP for Glasgow Cathcart

Mhairi Fraser MSYP for Glasgow Anniesland

Stephanie McQuillan MSYP for Glasgow Provan

Suki (She-Kei) Wan MSYP for Glasgow Shettleston

Suleman Jehanger MSYP for Glasgow Kelvin

Thomas McEachan MSYP for Glasgow Pollok

Lewis O’Neill MSYP for Glasgow Shettleston

A spokesperson for the nomination team said: “The GYC work tirelessly to promote the empowerment of young people in Glasgow and collectively devote many hours to ensure that the voice of young people is heard in Glasgow.

“They are a perfect example of how youth work changes lives.”