Library award for Barrhead Foundry

Barrhead Foundry library winners
Barrhead Foundry library winners

Bibliophiles in East Renfrewshire are delighted they have one of the best libraries in the country on their doorstep - and it’s official!

The library at Barrhead Foundry has won a prestigious national UK award for the innovative way it provides its service to the public.

Staff at the library, along with East Renfrewshire Culture and Leisure board member, Councillor Mary Montague, attended at the 2016 Edge Awards ceremony, in Edinburgh to pick up the accolade in the physical category.

This award recognises the outstanding building, layout and use of targeted space for the library service at Barrhead Foundry.

Anthony McReavy, chief executive of East Renfrewshire Culture and Leisure – the organisation that runs sports, leisure and cultural services in the area –said: “A lot of thought had gone into the design of the library at Barrhead Foundry to make sure it was very user-friendly and it took library provision into the 21st century.

“This award recognises not only the library’s innovative design, but also its exceptional performance since it opened in 2015, attracting record numbers of people and bucking a national trend.

“Libraries in East Renfrewshire have always had an excellent reputation and it’s pleasing to see that East Renfrewshire Culture and Leisure is continuing this high standing by being recognised nationally with the Edge Award.

“We have an excellent team at Barrhead Foundry library and it’s deserving they are being recognised for their innovation, creativity and outstanding work in providing such a great library service for the people of East Renfrewshire.

“Past winners of this award have been libraries in Manchester and Glasgow, so for Barrhead to be recognised is quite remarkable.”

Shown in our image aboveBack row, left to right, Gillian Hamilton; Jennifer Millar; Fiona McClure; Paul Martin; Scott Simpson; Stephanie Johnson and Mary Dickie, Front row, left to right, Joan Smythe; Councillor Mary Montague, and Janice Weir.