Have your say on community awards

editorial image

The search is on for East Renfrewshire’s volunteer of the year.

In the annual event held by local MP Jim Murphy and MSP Ken Macintosh, work by the dedicated and selfless volunteers in the community is recognised.

Jim Murphy MP told The Extra: “Volunteers make an incredible contribution right across East Renfrewshire 
and, without them, many of the services we take for granted would simply no longer exist.

“Such a commitment should be recognised publicly.”

MSP Ken Macintosh added: “These awards are a way to recognise the fantastic efforts of volunteers and to highlight the important work being done across the community.”

Among the awards are voluntary group of the year, volunteer of the year, campaigner of the year, carer of the year and the Betty Cunningham OBE lifetime achievement award.

This year, the Eastwood Extra readers community champion will also be named, and it’s up to you who wins.

Make your nominations via Twitter (@ExtraSouthside), Facebook, or by email to gregor.hollerin@jpress.co.uk.