End of school year achievements

editorial image

STAR pupils from across East Renfrewshire have been honoured by the local authority for outstanding achievements.

The school year may be drawing to a close, but the achievements of youngsters in various fields — from community service to sporting prowess — were recognised in the East Renfrewshire council Convener’s Awards for Outstanding Achievement.

Education and equalities convener and vice-convener, councillors Elaine Green and Paul O’Kane, awarded certificates to 40 individuals and 11 teams at the ceremony in Carmichael Hall.

Councillor Green said: “I would like to congratulate every one of our outstanding pupils — they all very much deserve their awards.

“It has been an inspiration to hear of their achievements and to honour their hard work and commitment.

“They are a credit to themselves and every school is rightly proud of them.”

Individual pupils were awarded prizes in seven categories: sports leadership and volunteering, volunteering and caring, creativity, advocacy, community service, extra curricular and independent living skills.

The 2013 Convener’s Awards winners:

Sports Leadership and Volunteering:

Diane Barbour, Eastwood high

Grant Girvan, Woodfarm high

Georgia Lanigan, St Ninian’s high

Lauren McGregor, Woodfarm high

Thomas McGaughey, Barrhead high

Amy Robin, Woodfarm high


Deborah Gemmell, Williamwood high

Lisa Ann Wylie, Williamwood high


Neil Reoch and Jack McNeilage (jointly), Woodfarm high

Jack Henry, St Ninian’s high

Richard Scholfield, Williamwood high

Rebecca Smith, St Ninian’s high

Kerry Toner, St Luke’s high

Stuart, Andrew and Christopher Vettraino (jointly), Williamwood high


Danii McArthur, Barrhead high

Caitlin McKenzie, Eastwood high

Community Service:

Kevin Glasgow, St Ninian’s high

Jessie Ling, Eastwood high

Katy Mallon, St Ninian’s high

Jodie MacLean, Barrhead high

Caitlin McCrorie, St Ninian’s high

Shannon Philbin, St Ninian’s high

Extra Curricular:

Ryan Robertson, Woodfarm high

Ciera Doohan, St Ninian’s high

Independent Living Skills:

Jacob Watters, Eastwood high


George Burns, Mearns Castle high

John Paul Gallacher, St Luke’s high

David Lambie, Williamwood high

Mhairi High, St Luke’s high

Sarah McDonald, Mearns Castle high

Megan Macnair, Eastwood high

Laura McCracken, Mearns Castle high

Holly McMahon, Eastwood high

Andrew Mullen, Mearns Castle high

Catherine Palmer, Eastwood high

Katy Rice, St Ninian’s high

Erin Wallace, Eastwood high

Chloe Cowan, Williamwood high

Amy Clark, Isobel Mair school

Liam Runciman, St Ninian’s high

Team Awards:

Young People’s Services – East Renfrewshire Council’s Youth Group Mearns Castle High – Eco Group

St Luke’s high – Rio Fundraisers

St Ninian’s high – Life Group

Eastwood high – SALT group

Mearns Castle high – Skiing Group

St Luke’s high – Public Speaking

St Ninian’s high – Enterprise Group

Barrhead high – Rights Respecting Schools Group

Woodfarm high – Rights Respecting Schools Group

Eastwood high - Equestrian Group