East Renfrewshire recipients in Queen’s New Year Honours list

Adam Black who has been awarded an BEM.
Adam Black who has been awarded an BEM.

Four East Renfrewshire residents have been named in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list.

Anne Mare Kennedy has been awarded an MBE for services to the community in East Renfrewshire, Joseph HERD Social Justice Manager at St Luke’s High School, Barrhead, has been awarded an OBE for services to Community Cohesion, Education and charity in East Renfrewshire.

While Eaglesham’s Adam Black, was awarded an BEM for services to raising awareness of stammering, and Former Netherlee Primary School and Williamwood High School pupil Douglas Arnott also received a BEM for his charity work in Budapest, where he now lives and works, and UK/Hungary relations.

The First Minister said: “The Queen’s New Year Honours list highlights the exceptional achievements of Scots whose outstanding service and dedication has made a lasting contribution to their communities.

“Recipients’ interests range from arts and education to business, medicine and science and includes those who have again excelled while promoting our country on the world’s sporting stage. This year, it is also fitting that a number of people who have done so much to help mark the centenary of World War One have been honoured.

“I also want to extend my congratulations to emergency service personnel who have been awarded The Queen’s Fire, Police or Ambulance Service Medals. Our emergency services deserve our continued gratitude for helping to keep people and communities across Scotland safe, every day of the year.”

Scottish Secretary David Mundell added: “I’m delighted and very proud that Scots who have made an immense contribution in such a diverse range of fields have been honoured.

“They have made an outstanding contribution in a wide range of fields, from charity to business and sport to science, they help our communities thrive and inspire future generations. I offer my heartfelt congratulations to all those who have been honoured this year.”