Eaglesham charity receives award from local MP

Ms Oswald meets the committee.
Ms Oswald meets the committee.

The Eaglesham 1990 MacMillan Cancer Support Committee were thrilled to accept a certificate applauding the good work they do.

East Renfrewshire MP Kirsten Oswald presented the ladies with the award, the culmination of 25 years of fundraising which has collectively brought in £400,000 to date.

The determination of the membership has seen its strength grow over the years.

Inaugural chair, Marie Jeffrey, who was succeeded by Jenny McIlwham, Dodie Mitchell and Eilleen Morton, said: “The most enjoyable thing was the camaraderie from other members and, although it was hard work at times and dependant on other people’s generosity to raise funds and gain support, it was always worth it in the end.

“I’m absolutely delighted the committee is still going strong after all these years and continuing to raise so much money for such a deserving cause.”

Kirsten Oswald MP recently laid down an Early Day Motion in Westminster, celebrating the work and achievements of the committee, and she met with them to present them with a certificate commemorating the Early Day Motion in their name.

Ms Oswald said: “The achievements of this group are amazing, and it was a real pleasure to meet them.

“They have worked tirelessly over many years, and they have made a real difference to many people at the most difficult time in their lives.

“I can’t thank them enough for everything that they’ve done.”